Tags

, , ,

Friendly furry felines.  Everywhere. A nice site for the lonely cat lover.  Although Bob B would have a fit trying to get each cat spayed or neutered.  The obvious issue of cat care or lack thereof in Morocco is interesting. They severe a very practical purpose, and offer enjoyment for the residents where these cats reside.  While there are no cats riding in bags with name tags there are abundances of little “kitty hostels” consisting of cardboard boxes and fish carcasses.  Some lucky ones get a treat of milk now and again.

Cats are treated as a self sufficient and important part of urban life, instead of a fuzzy ball of foo-foo only here for us to watch sleep and purr.  They significantly reduce or help control the vermin population in citie cores, especially Medinas, which might otherwise be ideal breeding situations for the Muroidea family.

As in any part of the animal kingdom, the strong survive.  It is not uncommon to see many a cat with crusted shut eyes, or running noses or simply half dead, but you cannot help the cats.  Usually there is a super cute healthy one nearby to distract you from the dying ones but with the massive amount of street cats out there, you are bound to find sick ones too.  Overall I find it nice to see literally dozens of cats under tables and around the corner, and feel free to pet them (I have not been bitten, yet).  Oh, but make sure to wash your hands.

-Matthew

Never before have I been to a country so abundant with street cats! Usually, they seem pretty happy and healthy even if they are a bit dirty. However, sometimes you see a cat that really needs help. It’s pretty heartbreaking, but you have to realize that you can’t take in every cat. And other times, the kittens are just so adorable that you might want to take them with you for selfish reasons. But again, the same problem arises.

Walking home from work one day, I heard a meow coming from the bushes. It was a particularly cold and rainy day. I saw a white kitten shivering and lost. Its fur was all wet and its right eye glued shut. I wanted to bring it home with me. However, after giving it a bit of thought, I got into a taxi and went home. At home I kept thinking about this kitty – should I adopt it? Then I thought about the vet bills…shots, spaying/neutering, de-clawing, fixing the eye infection…
Needless to say, I decided against it.

The next day I bought a can of tuna for the kitten. I found it in the same place and fed him the food.  He was pretty hungry. I watched him eat for a bit, but it was only making me more sad. The third day, I took the bus home, maybe subconsciously trying to avoid seeing the kitty again.

Living in Morocco, you can’t have that attitude towards the street cats, or life will become depressing fast. Having said all of that, one of these days I may just adopt a street cat. After all, they are so darn cute!

– Stef

So here are photos of some favourites:

ImageImageImage

Image

ImageImageImage

ImageImageImage

Image

MEOW

